Haugland to be inducted into basketball hall of fameMurdo High School's 1954 basketball team

Haugland to be inducted to basketball hall of fame


The South Dakota High School Basketball Hall of Fame will induct 19 new members during its seventh annual banquet at 1 p.m. on April 2 at the Ramkota Hotel in Sioux Falls. That will increase membership in the Hall of Fame to 117 of the most accomplished boys and girls players in the history of the state.
Included among the former greats in the Class of 2016 is Maury Haugland, a 1954 graduate of Murdo High School. Later as a collegian he helped the University of South Dakota win the 1958 NCAA College Division National Basketball Tournament in Evansville, Ind.
Haugland averaged 20 points per game in 1954 as Murdo earned fifth place in the Class B state tournament and finished with a record of 30-2.
To be recognized at the banquet as Teams of Excellence will be two of the state’s all-time greatest teams: the 1958 Huron Tigers and the 1926 Salem Cubs. Ticket information for the banquet can be found on the Hall of Fame website at www.sdbbhof.com.
Holly (Sivesind) Borchers, Sioux Falls (Sioux Falls Roosevelt High School 1993)
Elton Byre, Sioux Falls (Reliance High School 1956)
Amy (Allard) Carmody, Grosse Pointe Park, Mich. (Jefferson High School 1982)
Conrad “Cornie” Collin* (Huron High School 1930)
Roger Faber, Bloomington, Minn. (Canistota High School 1958)
Melissa (Olson) Guebert, Apple Valley, Minn. (Sioux Falls Lincoln High School 1983)
Dale Hall, Wagner (Ravinia High School 1954)
Maury Haugland, Lead (Murdo High School 1954)
Fred Hecker* (Sioux Falls Washington High School 1957)
Steve Jansa, Sioux Falls (Sioux Falls O’Gorman High School 1964)
Matt Jones, Brookings (Alpena High School 2001)
Bob Marske* (Andover High School 1944)
Chris Miller, Louisville, Ky. (Stickney High School 1971)
Scott Morgan, Mitchell (Mitchell High School 1989)
Josh Mueller, Arvada, Colo. (West Central High School 2001)
Wayne Rasmussen, Brandon (Howard High School 1960)
Rudy Soderquist* (Rapid City High School 1937)
Lolly Steele, Pine Ridge (Pine Ridge High School 1984)
Harley Zephier Sr., Aberdeen (Dupree High School 1955)
* To be inducted posthumously

The Pioneer Review

221 E. Oak Street
Philip, SD 57567
Telephone: (605) 859-2516
E Mail: ads@pioneer-review.com

Sign Up For Breaking News

Stay informed on our latest news!

Manage my subscriptions

Subscribe to Newsletter feed
Comment Here